Garrett James Photography

Prince George Spruce Kings: Graduating players and eligible returnees

The Prince George Spruce Kings are the longest-reigning Fred Page Cup champions in history after winning the trophy in 2019 and it not being awarded in 2020 and 2021 due to the COVID-19 pandemic. During the 2021-22 season, the Spruce Kings finished fourth in the Interior Conference. PG defeated the upstart Cranbrook Bucks in the first round in six games before being eliminated by the Penticton Vees in a four-game sweep in the second.

PG has seven players committed to NCAA Division I schools for this fall and three players aging out of junior hockey.

Spruce Kings general manager Mike Hawes and head coach Alex Evin have eight forwards, five defenders, and one goaltender eligible to return next season. Hawes and Evin also have four 20-year-olds returning for the Spruce Kings.

These numbers will likely change as players move to other leagues like the Western Hockey League, US Hockey League, or North American Hockey League. They may drop down to junior B, be sent away in trades, retire, or wind up committing to college before September and don’t return to Prince George.

The depth chart is based on the league going with a 24-player roster next season and coaches going with 14 forwards, eight defenders, and two goaltenders.

Graduating Players

Luc Laylin (University of St. Thomas)
Rowan Miller (University of Alaska-Anchorage)
Nick Rheaume (University of Massachusetts-Lowell)
John Harrington (Lake Superior State University)
Simon Labelle (Colgate University)
Nick Marciano (Princeton University)
Aaron Trotter (University of St. Thomas)
Kolton Cousins (aged out)
Dylan Schives (aged out)
Josh Wright (aged out)

Eligible Returnees (* indicates an open spot – assuming the team goes with 14 forwards and eight defenders)

Nathan Fox (02)
Luke German (02)
Kilian McGregor-Bennett (03)
Ty Gagno (03)
Austin Fraser (03)
Linden Makow (04)
Jagjeevan Phangura (04)
Evan Fedele (04)

Colton Cameron (02)
Amran Bhabra (03)
Ben LaFranc (03)
Adam Leitch (04)
Tait Ross (04)

Jordan Fairlie (02)