Island Images Photography

Chilliwack Chiefs: Graduating players and eligible returnees

The Chilliwack Chiefs finished fifth in the B.C. Hockey League’s Coastal Conference this season with a 28-22-1-3 record and faced the Coquitlam Express in the first round of the Fred Page Cup playoffs. The Chiefs derailed the Express in five games in the conference quarterfinals.

Chilliwack faced Nanaimo in the second round and got revenge for last season’s defeat by the Clippers by winning this year in six games. The Chiefs faced the Alberni Valley Bulldogs in the Coastal Conference final and lost in a four-game sweep.

The Chiefs have three players committed to NCAA Division I schools for this September as of this writing, and one committed to U SPORTS in Aaron Davidson.

All college commitment data is taken from each team’s individual roster page on the BCHL website and the College Hockey News website.

Chilliwack general manager and head coach Brian Maloney has 12 forwards, five defenders, and two goalies eligible to return in 2023-24.

These numbers will likely change as players move to other leagues like the Western Hockey League, U.S. Hockey League, or North American Hockey League. They may drop to junior B, be sent away in trades, retire, or commit to college before September, and don’t return to their BCHL clubs.

The depth chart is based on the league going with a 24-player roster next season and coaches going with 14 forwards, eight defenders, and two goaltenders.

Graduating players

Duncan Ramsay (University of Vermont)
Sasha Teleguine (Lake Superior State University)
Abram Wiebe (University of North Dakota)
Aaron Davidson (University of Waterloo)

Eligible returnees (* indicates an open spot – assuming the team goes with 14 forwards and eight defenders)

Tim Delay (03)
Dalton MacGillivray (04)
Michael Stenberg (04)
Bryan Jones (04)
Dylan Kinch (04)
Mateo Mrsic (04)
Nathan Morin (04)
Michael La Starza (04)
Mason Kesslering (04)
AJ Lacroix (05)
Brady Milburn (05)
Nico Grabas (05)

Brian Morse (03)
Ben Feenan (04)
Lucas Sorace (04)
Hunter McInnes (05)
Olivier Beaulieu (05)

Austin McNicholas (04)
Lukas Szyszka (04)