Garrett James Photography

Chilliwack Chiefs: Graduating players and eligible returnees

Chilliwack, like many other teams, had a whirlwind season filled with COVID-19 and floods, but the Chiefs ended it on a hot streak and finished second in the Coastal Conference. The Chiefs defeated the Coquitlam Express in seven games in the first round of the playoffs and were swept by the Nanaimo Clippers in the second round.

The Chiefs have 10 players committed to NCAA Division I schools for this fall, and a pair heading off to Canadian universities to play U SPORTS hockey.

Chilliwack general manager and head coach Brian Maloney is looking at seven eligible returnees up front, two on defense, and Cole Savage in goal. Maloney doesn’t have any 20-year-olds returning for 2022-23, which leaves lots of room to add some valuable pieces for this high-powered Chiefs team.

These numbers will likely change as players move to other leagues like the Western Hockey League, US Hockey League, or North American Hockey League. They may drop down to junior B, be sent away in trades, retire, or wind up committing to college before September and don’t return to Chilliwack.

The depth chart is based on the league going with a 24-player roster next season and coaches going with 14 forwards, eight defenders, and two goaltenders. 

Graduating players

Ethan Bowen (University of Vermont)
Frankie Carogioiello (Miami University)
Kienan Draper (University of Michigan)
Lachlan Getz (Union College)
Xavier Henry (University of Vermont)
Conner Millburn (Lake Superior State University)
Thomas Messineo (University of Connecticut)
Brett Rylance (American International College)
Grant Riley (Northeastern University)
Jack Seymour (College of the Holy Cross)
Jordan Chudley (University of Windsor)
Anthony Allepot (University of Western Ontario)

Eligible Returnees (* indicates an open spot – assuming the team goes with 14 forwards and eight defenders)

Liam Tanner (03)
Chad Muller (03)
Landyn Greatorex (03)
Mateo Mrsic (04)
Cameron Johnson (04)
AJ Lacroix (05)
Brady Milburn (05)

Abram Wiebe (03)
Lucas Sorace (04)

Cole Savage (03)