BCHL Today: Johnson named CJHL Top Forward, Ozar named Smokies captain, Spruce Kings extend lottery deadline, and more

Johnson named CJHL Top Forward

Trail Smoke Eaters forward Kent Johnson is the Top Forward in the Canadian Junior Hockey League for 2019-20. The Port Moody product led the BCHL in scoring with 41 goals and 60 assists in 52 games en route to being named league MVP and most sportsmanlike player.

The 17-year-old Johnson is committed to attend the University of Michigan in September and touted as a top ten pick for the 2021 NHL Entry Draft.

Ozar named Smoke Eaters captain for 2020-21

The Trail Smoke Eaters announced on Friday that forward Owen Ozar would return in 2020-21 and serve as team captain. He was originally set to play for the University of Denver this fall, but will instead attend in September 2021.

Ozar was fourth in BCHL scoring this past season with 26 goals and 40 assists in 54 games, his second with the Smoke Eaters. He added two goals and two assists in Trail’s first-round playoff sweep of Prince George.

Spruce Kings extend show home draw

The Prince George Spruce Kings have extended the deadline for their annual show home lottery fundraiser by four weeks. There are 11,000 tickets available for the grand prize show home.

The fundraiser is the biggest of the year for the community-owned Spruce Kings. Tickets are available until May 25 with the draw four days later on May 29.

BCHL alumni win RPI men’s hockey awards

The Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute men’s hockey team announced its 2019-20 season-ending awards and four BCHL alumni are among those honoured.

Defenceman Will Reilly (nine goals, 23 assists in 52 games with Nanaimo in 2015-16) earned co-most valuable player honours alongside Owen Savory.

Reilly, who had eight goals and 14 assists as RPI captain in 2019-20, was also named top defenseman, best defensive player, and Ben Mayo most inspirational player.

Forward Chase Zieky (28 goals, 26 assists with Langley and Salmon Arm in 2015-16) was named RPI best offensive player. He had seven goals and 16 assists in 34 NCAA games with the Engineers this past season.

Defenceman Cory Babichuk (seven goals, 33 assists in 65 games with Surrey from 2016-18) was named freshman of the year after putting up four goals and 12 assists in 27 games.

Goaltender Linden Marshall (20-15-1, 3.47 GAA, .899 SV%, 2 SO in 49 games with Trail from 2016-17) earned the RPI scholar athlete award. In eight games this past season, he went 3-3 with a 2.90 GAA and a .904 SV%. Marshall is a mechanical engineering major with a 3.50 grade point average.

Three Stars of the Night ⏪ April 25, 2017

First Star: Penticton forward Duncan Campbell scored the winner in a 1-0 overtime victory against Chilliwack as the Vees claimed the 2017 Fred Page Cup championship in seven games.

Second Star: Vees goaltender Mathew Robson made 26 saves for the shutout win.

Third Star: Chiefs netminder Mark Sinclair kicked out 37 shots, including 13 in the third period.

Honourable Mentions: Penticton defencemen Gabe Bast and James Miller each assisted on Campbell’s OT winning goal.