Island Images Photography

Vernon Vipers: Graduating players and eligible returnees

The Vernon Vipers finished sixth in the BC Hockey League’s Interior Conference this season with a 27-21-2-4 record and faced the West Kelowna Warriors in the first round of the Fred Page Cup playoffs. Vernon upset the Warriors in six games. The Vipers then faced the Salmon Arm Silverbacks in the second round and were eliminated in five games.

The Vipers have eight players committed to NCAA Division I schools for this September as of this writing, one player in Anson McMaster committed to U SPORTS, and two aging out in Walker Erickson and Ayden Third.

All college commitment data is taken from each team’s individual roster page on the BCHL website and the College Hockey News website.

Vernon general manager and head coach Jason McKee has seven forwards, three defenders, and one goalie eligible to return in 2023-24.

These numbers will likely change as players move to other leagues like the Western Hockey League, U.S. Hockey League, or North American Hockey League. They may drop to junior B, be sent away in trades, retire, or commit to college before September, and don’t return to their BCHL clubs.

The depth chart is based on the league going with a 24-player roster next season and coaches going with 14 forwards, eight defenders, and two goaltenders.

Graduating players

Griffen Barr (Brown University)
Roan Clarke (Dartmouth College)
Dylan Compton (Northeastern University)
Jonathan Horn (University of Massachusetts-Lowell)
Reagan Milburn (Lake Superior State University)
Luke Pakulak (Bentley University)
Lee Parks (University of Massachusetts-Lowell)
Seiya Tanaka-Campbell (Yale University)
Connor Welsh (College of the Holy Cross)
Anson McMaster (University of Ottawa)
Walker Erickson (aged out)
Ayden Third (aged out)

Eligible returnees (* indicates an open spot – assuming the team goes with 14 forwards and eight defenders)

Ethan Sundar (03)
Hank Cleaves (03)
Julian Facchinelli (04)
Thomas Tein (04)
Max Borovinskiy (04)
Isaac Tremblay (04)
Ethan Merner (06)

Connor Elliott (03)
Anthony Cliche (03)
Luke Ashton (05)

Ethan David (03)