Island Images Photography

Powell River Kings: Graduating players and eligible returnees

The Powell River Kings finished seventh in the B.C. Hockey League’s Coastal Conference this season with a 20-26-5-3 record and faced the Surrey Eagles in the first round of the Fred Page Cup playoffs. It was the Kings’ return to the post-season after missing out last year for the first time in 20 years. This year, Powell River fell to the Eagles in five games.

The Kings have seven players committed to NCAA Division I schools for this September, and three aging out in Cameron Symons, Sam Schoenfeld, and Dylan Hewlett.

All college commitment data is taken from each team’s individual roster page on the BCHL website as well as the College Hockey News website.

Powell River general manager Chad Van Diemen and head coach Brock Swayer have seven forwards, two defenders, and two goalies eligible to return in 2023-24.

These numbers will likely change as players move to other leagues like the Western Hockey League, US Hockey League, or North American Hockey League. They may drop down to junior B, be sent away in trades, retire, or wind up committing to college before September and don’t return to their BCHL clubs.

The depth chart is based on the league going with a 24-player roster next season and coaches going with 14 forwards, eight defenders, and two goaltenders.

Graduating players

Casey Aman (Penn State University)
Sam Belanger (Lake Superior State University)
Jack Blanchett (Lake Superior State University)
Noah Eyre (Princeton University)
Parker Lalonde (Minnesota State University)
Karter McNarland (University of Alaska-Anchorage)
Alexi Van Houtte-Cachero (University of Nebraska-Omaha)
Cameron Symons (aged out)
Sam Schoenfeld (aged out)
Dylan Hewlett (aged out)

Eligible returnees (* indicates an open spot – assuming the team goes with 14 forwards and eight defenders)

Adam Mendelson (03)
Anthony Lucarelli (03)
Anthony Yu (04)
Ryder Ringor (04)
Turner Richards (04)
Marcus Dashevsky (04)
Alex Sandhu (05)

Will Jones (04)
Caleb Bentham (05)

Liam Vanderkooi (03)
Kyle Metson (03)