Garrett James Photography

Penticton Vees: Graduating players and eligible returnees

An extensive roster turnover in Penticton is as regular as the tide. Every year, the Vees are near the top of the BCHL in the standings and college commitments. As a result, a huge amount of players advance to the college ranks each fall. This year is no different as Penticton president, general manager and head coach Fred Harbinson has 15 players off to NCAA Division I schools in September.

Among those leaving are the Vees top nine scorers from 2019-20. Forwards Tristan Amonte, Tyler Ho, Darwin Lakoduk and Jack Barnes are all entering their 20-year-old seasons with high expectations. Amonte is the highest scorer of the quartet, with 15 goals and 19 assists in 56 games this past season.

Ho ramped it up in the playoffs with five points in five games during Penticton’s first round series against West Kelowna. This came after he averaged only .57 points-per-game during the regular season.

Only two skaters are slated to return on the Vees blueline with four-year veteran Ethan Martini and sophomore Carson Hemenway in the mix. Martini won’t provide a lot of points but is solid in the defensive zone. Hemenway only played six games in Penticton after coming over from Alberni Valley in a trade deadline deal.

After playing 18 games behind Yaniv Perets, 20-year-old Carl Stankowski is the incumbent in goal. The former Calgary Hitmen and Seattle Thunderbirds netminder went 14-3 for the Vees with a 2.08 goals-against-average and a .915 save percentage during the regular season.

The depth chart is based on coaches going with a 23-man roster of 13 forwards, eight defencemen and two goaltenders.

*All college commitment years are collated from each player’s profile on the Vees roster on the BCHL website.

Graduating Players

Carson Kosobud (Arizona State University)
Conner Hutchison (University of Vermont)
Cade Webber (Boston University)
Yaniv Perets (Quinnipiac University)
Drew Elser (University of Connecticut)
Liam Malmquist (University of Wisconsin)
Jackson Niedermayer (Arizona State University)
Lukas Sillinger (Bemidji State University)
Evan McIntyre (Ohio State University)
Nico Somerville (American International College)
Steve Holtz (University of Michigan)
Danny Weight (Boston College)
Jay O’Brien (Boston University)
Colton Kalezic (Northern Michigan University)
David Silye (Clarkson University)

Eligible Returnees

(* indicates an open spot – assuming the team goes with 13 forwards and eight defencemen)

Jack Barnes (00)
Tyler Ho (00)
Tristan Amonte (00)
Darwin Lakoduk (00)
Liam Noble (01)

Ethan Martini (00)
Carson Hemenway (02)

Carl Stankowski (00)