Christina Jean Photography

Merritt Centennials: Graduating players and eligible returnees

With the 2021-22 BC Hockey League season officially done for two of the circuits’ 18 teams, anticipation is building for next season already.

With future considerations from this season’s trades potentially turning into players, plus recruiting and players moving on due to age or college commitments, there’s no shortage of work to be done before training camp for the 2022-23 season starts in September.

As each team’s season comes to an end, we’ll break down what all 18 teams are looking at roster-wise heading into the off-season. These numbers will likely change as players move to other leagues like the Western Hockey League, US Hockey League, or North American Hockey League. They may drop down to junior B, be sent away in trades, retire, or wind up committing to college before September and don’t return to their BCHL clubs.

The depth chart is based on the league going with a 24-player roster next season and coaches going with 14 forwards, eight defenders, and two goaltenders. First up is the first team to not make the playoffs – the Merritt Centennials.

The Centennials have two players in forwards Ben Ward and Josh Olson who have aged out of junior. There are no players on Merritt’s roster committed to an NCAA Division I school.

Cents general manager and head coach Curtis Toneff, who took over from Dave Chyzowski in late December, has 11 players eligible to return up front, eight on the blueline and two in goal.

Graduating players

Ben Ward (aged out)
Josh Olson (aged out)

Eligible returnees (* indicates an open spot – assuming the team goes with 14 forwards and eight defenders)

Anton Sorensen (02)
Ryan Mulrenin (02)
Ashton Taylor (03)
Connor Farren (03)
Jakob Jones (03)
Mark Thurston (03)
Levi Carter (03)
Jackson Krill (04)
Drew Dornan (04)
Davide Patella (04)
Jacksenn Hungle (04)

Will Bowman (02)
Geoff Bjarnason (03)
Chase Cooke (03)
Tristan Allen (03)
Sam Boldt (03)
Jacob Dewitt (04)
Liam Davidson (04)
Sam Ward (05)

Jackson Baker (03)
John Hicks (05)