BCHL Today: Express name captains, Eagles recruit Chakrabarti, and more


Express announce 2020-21 leadership corps

The Coquitlam Express announced on Sunday the four players who will serve as captains for the 2020-21 season.

2000-born forward Danny Pearson takes over the captaincy from Noah De La Durantaye. Pearson, who’s from West Vancouver, is entering his third season with the Express.

2001-born forwards Ryan Tattle and Christian MacDougall along with 2001-born defenseman Alek Sukunda will each have an ‘A’ on their jersey this season.

Tattle and MacDougall are each going into their sophomore campaigns. Sukunda is in his first season with the Express, but he has two years in the Western Hockey League under his belt.

Eagles bring in Chakrabarti for 2021-22 season

The Surrey Eagles announced on Sunday the commitment of 2003-born forward Luke Chakrabarti for the 2021-22 BC Hockey League season.

Chakrabarti, a native of White Rock, BC, had two goals and three points in four games with St. George’s School U18 Prep of the Canadian Sport School Hockey League this season.

Cents confirm their addition to Chilliwack pod

The Merritt Centennials announced on Saturday that they’re opting in for the abbreviated 2020-21 BCHL season in the Chilliwack pod.

In the news release, the Cents note that their players “will enter a two-week quarantine period before taking the ice as part of the Chilliwack pod in April”.

Ted Clarke of the Prince George Citizen noted the Spruce Kings are also heading to Chilliwack for the season.

It’s easy to surmise the Centennials, Spruce Kings, and Chiefs will face off against each other once things get started.