BCHL Today: League sets record for college committed players, Johnson named finalist for CJHL Top Forward, Warriors and Bucks add new players, and more

BCHL sets record for college committed players

The BC Hockey League announced on Thursday that it had set a record for college-committed players with 172, which is the most in league history.

Of those commitments, only six of them were to schools other than those in NCAA Div. I. The 166 players heading to Div. I schools is also the highest ever in BCHL history.

BCHL leading scorer Johnson is a finalist for CJHL Top Forward

Trail Smoke Eaters forward Kent Johnson is one of the five finalists for the Canadian Junior Hockey League Top Forward Award for 2019-20. The 17-year-old, who’s off to the University of Michigan this fall, had 41 goals and 60 assists in 52 games for the Smokies this season.

He led the league in scoring and was a First Team All-Star. In addition, Johnson earned the awards as BCHL Most Valuable Player and Most Sportsmanlike Player.

Warriors add Dartmouth-bound forward MacLeod

The West Kelowna Warriors have received a commitment from forward Isaac MacLeod for the 2020-21 season. The forward from Caledonia, Ontario played US prep school hockey with New Hampton.

He put up 39 goals and 26 assists in 35 games. MacLeod is committed to attend Dartmouth College in September 2021.

Bucks sign NE Chiefs captain Lowe

The Cranbrook Bucks have added forward Christian Lowe for their inaugural season. Lowe, who’s from Port Moody, had 13 goals and 14 assists in 28 games for the Vancouver NE Chiefs of the BC Major Midget League in 2019-20.

He was captain of the Chiefs and also played five games with the Coquitlam Express as an affiliate player, putting up a goal and three assists.

Former Clippers forward Reilly signs NHL contract

Defenceman William Reilly (nine goals, 23 assists in 52 games with Nanaimo in 2015-16) has signed a two-year, entry-level contract with the Pittsburgh Penguins.

Reilly was chosen by the Penguins in the 7th round, 217th overall at the 2017 NHL Entry Draft. He spent the last four seasons playing NCAA Div. I at RPI, including last season where he was captain of the Engineers.

Three Stars of the Night ⏪ April 17, 2005

First Star: Surrey forward Tyler Eckford had a goal and an assist as the Eagles beat Vernon 5-1 to win the 2005 Fred Page Cup championship.

Second Star: Eagles forward David Rutherford scored twice in the victory, including the game’s first and last goals.

Third Star: Surrey goaltender Michael-Lee Teslak kicked out 38 shots in the win.

Honourable Mentions: Vernon forward Mark Nelson scored the lone goal for the Vipers in the game.